Stan's State Fan Forum

Dear Guests,

Welcome to Stan's State Fan Forum dedicated to Stan Walker.

Feel free to visit our PORTAL page to glance at the latest news.

In order to view the rest of the forum, meet fellow Stan fans and join in on our discussions, you will need to REGISTER with us. After activation you will be able to log in to the forum with your username and password.
If you have any questions or need help browse our FAQ or CONTACT.

Thank You.
SSFF Admin
Stan's State Fan Forum

This is the place for devoted Stan Walker fans to share their love, debate and engage in the career of this exceptional young artist.

New Album
LET THE MUSIC PLAY
Out Now!
New Single
Out Now
Check out Stan Walker's
upcoming appearances near you
 
 

    "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Share
    avatar
    Simona
    State Founder
    State Founder

    Posts : 2224
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Age : 43
    Location : Stan's State

    "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by Simona on Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:45 pm

    The link is to bandifm website to purchase the download or you could just listen to snippets of the songs....
    http://www.bandit.fm/poparazzi/stanwalker?id=LinkTK-Stan%20Walker-artistPageLink-OurPicks-thumbnail-HP

    SPOILER.... scroll down


    Last edited by Simona7 on Wed Dec 16, 2009 2:34 pm; edited 3 times in total


    _________________
    'Music is a language that everybody knows how to speak' SRW

    SSFF ♥️ ♥️ ♥️ Stan Walker
    avatar
    Ataahua
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Posts : 523
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Location : OZ

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by Ataahua on Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:49 pm

    listen to snippets eh?


    _________________
    avatar credit: me. please do not take without permission.
    avatar
    Simona
    State Founder
    State Founder

    Posts : 2224
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Age : 43
    Location : Stan's State

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by Simona on Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:53 pm

    I know ...

    where did you get all those crazy emoticons... I want 'em!!!


    _________________
    'Music is a language that everybody knows how to speak' SRW

    SSFF ♥️ ♥️ ♥️ Stan Walker
    avatar
    Ataahua
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Posts : 523
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Location : OZ

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by Ataahua on Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:59 pm

    awwwwwwww Stanley!!!!

    listening to those snippets brought back wonderful, spine-tingling memories of Idol!
    but geez, the album would've been made perfect if they had included "Nothing Else Matters."

    what am i gonna do till my copy arrives???

    my emoticons? i saved them from other forums i'm a member at.
    the official forum uses these ones too!


    _________________
    avatar credit: me. please do not take without permission.
    avatar
    QueenTiger
    PR Webmistress
    PR Webmistress

    Posts : 1397
    Join date : 2009-11-28
    Age : 43
    Location : Sydney

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by QueenTiger on Tue Dec 08, 2009 8:11 pm

    Thanks Simo, Tes, i agree, those snippets brought back memories for me 2. I shed a few tears and it wasn't even the whole song. lol! Can't wait for my copy to come aswell.
    avatar
    josephineperrot
    STANning
    STANning

    Posts : 559
    Join date : 2009-11-28
    Age : 59
    Location : Melbourne

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by josephineperrot on Tue Dec 08, 2009 8:27 pm

    going right now to listen to the songs!!! thanks for the link xx
    avatar
    Ataahua
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Posts : 523
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Location : OZ

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by Ataahua on Tue Dec 08, 2009 8:33 pm

    QueenTiger wrote:Thanks Simo, Tes, i agree, those snippets brought back memories for me 2. I shed a few tears and it wasn't even the whole song. lol! Can't wait for my copy to come aswell.

    I know, right??
    Stan's voice....so pretty...how can i wait till my copy arrives? I hope they hurry it up!


    _________________
    avatar credit: me. please do not take without permission.
    avatar
    Simona
    State Founder
    State Founder

    Posts : 2224
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Age : 43
    Location : Stan's State

    "Introducing... Stan Walker" ~~ Simo's Review ~~

    Post by Simona on Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:42 pm

    First of all, Tes, your emoticons crack me up big time gotta get some


    Now, I couldn't wait for the cd to come in the mail......


    so I went to JB Hi-Fi and bought a copy this morning

    the shop assistant was a Stan Fan she told me she had been playing it all day yesterday and that is a beautiful album, his voice is amazing...


    don't tell me that girl.... I know that right


    The front cover is a mini poster.... surprise then there are the track list, The production credits, the "Thank You" from Stan.


    Black Box.... we know this one, discussed it in his own thread:
    http://stanwalker.soulsboard.com/music-f5/black-box-cd-out-today-25-nov-t12.htm

    Purple Rain.... The music and vocal arrangements are a little different from live version, a bit plasticky. The higher notes sound they have been touched up? but great!

    The Climb.... The vocal arrangement is gorgeous just as the live version. This got Stan stamp on it. I forgot about C.Myles original

    It's a Man's World.... Music arrangement different. Vocals are SUPERB even better than the live version.

    Think Of Me.... upbeat, '50-'60 reminiscence, smooth Motown sound, you can hear Guy's influence. Stan's voice perfectly suited. Showcases his range and smoother tones. Love it!!!!!

    Ordinary People.... arrangement kept simple.... Stan with his amazing vocals and a gentle sweet piano..... Gorgeous

    Let's Stay Together... nice arrangement. Stan omg .... he's just great in this one. His higher register is impressive. Great!

    Hallelujah.... very similar to the live version... but longer, the lower register sounds much better ... I miss the look on his face when he sang this song on idol, lot of emotions and intensity. Very Good

    Superstar... omg, I'm so biased on this one... my favourite Vocal arrangement is just a little different I think being adapted to the longer version.... oh yes, I love you, I really do

    We Will Rock You... one of my favourite on idol. It dind't reproduce the brilliance "Ghetto fabulous" of the live version IMO. But still has the R&B spin that Stan gave to it. Nice!

    Amazing Grace... Gospel intro, more straight foward compared to live version. Longer version. Stan did an Amazing job... gave me goosebumps.

    Overall, Stan's voice is a little over produced, re-touched?? dunno if it's the right word. I like the rough edges in his voice here and there, his voice is pure and raw. Leave it alone Sony!

    That's it! My review is based on my opinion, taste .... and bias
    Fell free to agree or disagree ....


    Last edited by Simona7 on Wed Dec 16, 2009 2:33 pm; edited 1 time in total


    _________________
    'Music is a language that everybody knows how to speak' SRW

    SSFF ♥️ ♥️ ♥️ Stan Walker
    avatar
    sarahbunny
    STANning
    STANning

    Posts : 843
    Join date : 2009-11-27
    Age : 24
    Location : Australia mate

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by sarahbunny on Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:26 pm

    lols well i have onyl heard snippets cus i gotta wait till christmas but wat ive heard i love Big Smile
    avatar
    Ataahua
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Posts : 523
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Location : OZ

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by Ataahua on Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:33 pm

    LOL!!! I CAN believe that you would go and buy a copy coz you couldn't wait for the mailman. I'm tempted to do the same thing!

    did you advertise the forum to the sales girl? LOL!!

    about Stan's voice being "brushed up" i guess that's what happens when you sing in a recording studio and your voice goes those filters. I reckon Stan is one of those artists who sound better singing live.

    as for my emoticons, i love em too!


    _________________
    avatar credit: me. please do not take without permission.
    avatar
    josephineperrot
    STANning
    STANning

    Posts : 559
    Join date : 2009-11-28
    Age : 59
    Location : Melbourne

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by josephineperrot on Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:35 pm

    thank you Simo for your great review!! I have heard the snippets as well and yes it is different when you record a song and I remember when Dundre who posts in the idol forum I think mentioned once they record his voice it will fix any issues with his voice which is true but of course us fans are so use to his live idol performances which we have watched 100 times! remember what Wombie from idol posted about the Grand Final that his voice was so much better even live then on tv

    kaha
    STAN newbie
    STAN newbie

    Posts : 37
    Join date : 2009-12-02

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by kaha on Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:40 pm

    I stopped and bought my copy this morning on my way to work. Played it all day!! Loved every minute of it and had lots of customers asking about it Big Smile Love it but cant wait for his next album of originals
    avatar
    josephineperrot
    STANning
    STANning

    Posts : 559
    Join date : 2009-11-28
    Age : 59
    Location : Melbourne

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by josephineperrot on Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:59 pm

    Hi Kaha, did you play it at work??? good on you..grins..promoting him while enjoying it!! I will get my copy tomorrow at the mall..
    avatar
    Hikoi
    STANnified
    STANnified

    Posts : 287
    Join date : 2009-11-27
    Location : lurking...da da da daaahh!

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by Hikoi on Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:40 am

    I thought that you could tell Black Box was released first as a single
    because of the quality,musical accompniament and fullness of sound compared to the other songs. Which didnt exactly help Purple Rain which was the next song. Sony still playing it a bit safe, but thats alright, our Stans a stayer, and a KEEPER! Which only makes me love this album all the more! Its a journey! and hes only gong to get better, and he does a fabulous job on this album!!! ❤ ❤


    Last edited by Hikoi on Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:43 am; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : extra)

    kaha
    STAN newbie
    STAN newbie

    Posts : 37
    Join date : 2009-12-02

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by kaha on Thu Dec 10, 2009 9:26 am

    Yep . . . played it at work all day Big Smile !! Think Of Me is my new fav song!!

    Good to hear Ordinary People on there, but I wish Nothing Else Matters was on there too
    avatar
    josephineperrot
    STANning
    STANning

    Posts : 559
    Join date : 2009-11-28
    Age : 59
    Location : Melbourne

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by josephineperrot on Thu Dec 10, 2009 9:38 am

    Could be a copyright issue with 'Nothing Else Matters Kaha, but I am glad you can listen to it at work lol..

    Hi Hikoi,
    they did rush the album out which is great before xmas, from what I gather by going into idol forum is that normally do not re-record the journey album and that they stop doing a journey album the last couple of years? and of course they have made them longer except for 'we will rock you' so they must have great hopes Stan's album is going to do well in NZ and Aussie another thing is they have never sold a journey album outside of Aussie so hope it smashes Susan boyles album off the top 1 spot in NZ lol even though I do like her and have a soft spot for Susan
    avatar
    KrystaBel
    OutSTANding
    OutSTANding

    Posts : 1263
    Join date : 2009-12-04

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by KrystaBel on Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:01 pm

    Gee thanks for the snippets Simo... love love love hearing them all, sadly only briefly. I too am waiting for my copy in the post!! But I dont think I can wait... have to go shopping soon and hearing those beautiful tones of Stans, I am SOOOO tempted to buy another copy.

    Love the reveiw! Cant wait to hear all the songs in full...
    avatar
    Simona
    State Founder
    State Founder

    Posts : 2224
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Age : 43
    Location : Stan's State

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by Simona on Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:07 pm

    thanks Krysta

    I'm going to use the copies of the album as xmas presents. One of them is going to italy to my mum!


    _________________
    'Music is a language that everybody knows how to speak' SRW

    SSFF ♥️ ♥️ ♥️ Stan Walker
    avatar
    Taichimisty
    STANnified
    STANnified

    Posts : 483
    Join date : 2009-12-01
    Age : 61
    Location : Alpaca land

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by Taichimisty on Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:18 am

    Waaaaahoooooo Simona,
    are you breaking into the europe audience.............you go girlfriend.........spread the word about our gorgeous Stan!!!
    :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
    Cheers
    Taichi

    kaha
    STAN newbie
    STAN newbie

    Posts : 37
    Join date : 2009-12-02

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by kaha on Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:29 pm

    Its on high rotation at work trust me!! Not only that but I have managed to convert a few "idol haters" into idol lovers, well at least Stan Walker lovers anyway - pretty much everyone at work raves about his voice!!! Big Smile
    avatar
    Taichimisty
    STANnified
    STANnified

    Posts : 483
    Join date : 2009-12-01
    Age : 61
    Location : Alpaca land

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by Taichimisty on Tue Dec 15, 2009 1:26 pm

    Amen to that and way to go Kaha :cheers:

    Cheers
    Taichi
    avatar
    Simona
    State Founder
    State Founder

    Posts : 2224
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Age : 43
    Location : Stan's State

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by Simona on Tue Dec 15, 2009 4:47 pm

    hey haka!

    same here... the shameless propaganda "on ya face" that i did during idol, and more so now, has given good results... most of my family and half of my hubby's family now knows Stan Walker and follows him! The mums at kinder and school all congratz me for the win on AI 2009 ....

    I received e-mails from friends and family before and after the grand final to say they were all thinking about me .... I guess my passion for Stan is really strong and ppl get involved with that.... I say it's not me... it's the Stan Mania


    _________________
    'Music is a language that everybody knows how to speak' SRW

    SSFF ♥️ ♥️ ♥️ Stan Walker
    avatar
    inikamoze
    STANnified
    STANnified

    Posts : 121
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Location : Perth

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by inikamoze on Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:17 pm

    I was sick last week and couldn't get the CD - but I've got it now! :cheers:

    I heard quite a bit of it in Sanity today while I was out shopping - sounds amazing!
    avatar
    Simona
    State Founder
    State Founder

    Posts : 2224
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Age : 43
    Location : Stan's State

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by Simona on Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:25 pm

    nice to see you ini!

    I played Stan album many times now and I'm loving it every day more.
    I have to say that when i listened to the Cd in the car I had a different impression. It seems I can appreciate more his vocals and the music.... when I play it at home or while at the pc I don't focus as much on the songs....

    I bought a few copies so I can keep one in the car.... .... now i look foward to long drives...


    _________________
    'Music is a language that everybody knows how to speak' SRW

    SSFF ♥️ ♥️ ♥️ Stan Walker
    avatar
    inikamoze
    STANnified
    STANnified

    Posts : 121
    Join date : 2009-11-24
    Location : Perth

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by inikamoze on Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:32 pm

    Hey Simo! ☀

    Wrong time of the year for me to be forumming. So many things to get done!

    I'm off to play it on my home stereo as soon as I log off ... which is right about now :cheers:

    I'll tag on to your review - will be like old times on the idol forum :lol:

    Sponsored content

    Re: "Introducing... Stan Walker" Review ~~~~SPOILER~~~~~

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Sat Oct 21, 2017 7:21 pm